Big Bills Give Me the Willies

FROM:    David y Wright, 71510,536
DATE:    9/18/96 3:54 PM

The move is virtualy over.
virtualy because there are a few bytes, or bits anyway, in South Lyon.
I opened one cupboard there and discovered it still was full of ceramic mugs – the kind
you get from companies. There were at least 8 from Ford divisions.

The guy who claims to want to buy the place called the other night. He has looked into costs of fixing foundation as well as rest of place. He concluded that it will cost him about $45k, and that when done it will be worth $65k. So he offered $20k.
I told him that Julie was handeling negotiations, but she was out teaching Black Belt Class (not really – but he didn’t need to know)

Mean while Builder’s wife – Barb sent us some invoices and stuff we requested.
some of them included bills for another house. Second time I caught her doing that.
She keeps insisting that the Down Payment is a “Cost” , as well as “owner contributions”
Trying to sort through her spread sheets is a monster.
We signed a “Cost Plus” contract.
The “Plus” is 18% & 4% that are somehow combined to produce an effective 22.6666% – I think
We got an allowance for some things – like Kitchen Cabinets – which conviently Builder’s Sister sells – out of her kitchen. No commision on design work if we buy from “her sources”  our kitchen allowance was $8800 (cost)  Plus was about $2K
There are things called “Change Orders”
So when we chose cheapest cabinets – Cost $5.5k  you’d think that we would get credit for difference in Cost & the Plus
Nope, they think they get to keep whole Plus

But wait There’s More!

Julie & I decided that those cabinets really looked cheap – the wood trim was simulated plastic lamiminate that wasn’t trimed well. So we opted to go up a level and get mid range – $6.3k Cost.
Now They tell us that they have contract with vedor that they must mark up Cost by 35%
So we’re up to $8.2k and $500 to sister and because of that they get to charge us an extra 18% on the overage

I’m not sure I have all the shim-sham-doodling figured out – but it looks like $4.7k over bill to me.

There are lots of other mysterious numbers and it is like trying to unmix paint.

I really trusted these folks when we got started, and they have lots of good reference –
although I don’t think we called them all.

Maybe I’m in denial – but looking at a bill for $28k sure makes me queazy.

Then to make my night – Julie tells me that Compuserve is over billing me again.
$385.35!

So I get on phone to customer service and after half hour on wait – I get kid who has trouble dealing with facts of case.  We found out last time that some couple, Betty and Al Hicks, (sure they are) have some how managed to get account with  my old credit card number – Visa changed my old number, when I got new card from 10 digit to new and improved 12 digit type. I changed billing information – but some how Betty & Al managed to get locked on to my old number.
So my Visa bill shows up with 3 or 4 charges of about $120 each every month and I call up Visa and say “not me!” and they tell me to call Compuserve and they tell me to call Visa and so on….

What I can’t figure out is what can you buy from Compuserve that makes scam worth while?

Mean while we are trying to spiff up place for FrogTown Hop.

I’m still restricted to eating over sink – at least while Julie is within a 15 mile radius.
She hears crumbs dropping while she is at work and I get a call.

Plan is to have Grannie sleep over – first time Saturday night.
May be total disaster.
Joy & Mike are planing to pitch tent in vollyball court (just mowed)
Uncle Gerry, Robin, Gerry jr, Thumper, Domino, and – I forget other dog’s name are probably going to camp in camper.
And we get message from Peggy – living in Chicago that she may come and bring friend. She’s about 50ish so I’m not sure air mattress will be suitable.
I’m sure that if we were settled and not freaking out over Hop – that we could manage.
oh well – life is suppose to be an adventure.

and what did Barney say in The Match Maker about an adventure?

Something about wishing you were safe at home in your own bed…

Hope you are having the Wright kind of adventures, too.

Love Dave & Julie

Leave a comment